Monday, January 7, 2013

VES Awards: Hawaii Five-0 Nominated

BY THE DEADLINE TEAM | Monday January 7, 2013 @ 8:00am PST Email This Los Angeles – The Visual Effects Society (VES) is pleased to announce the nominees for the 11th Annual VES Awards, which recognize outstanding visual effects artistry in 24 categories of film, animation, television, commercials and video games. Nominees were selected Saturday, January 5 by VES members at SPY/ a FotoKem Company in the Bay Area and at FotoKem in Burbank in California; and at Blue Sky Studios in New York, Weta Digital in New Zealand, Fuel VFX in Sydney, Molinare in the UK and Image Engine in Vancouver. Jeffrey A. Okun, Chair of the Visual Effects Society, comments, “Visual effects have helped define the experience of going to the cinema. Every year, visual effects artists put their technical skill, ingenuity and passion to work in the creation of images that astound and move us. We congratulate all of our nominees on their amazing accomplishments in – and contributions to – the worlds of film, animation, television, special venue and games.” As previously announced, acclaimed director Ang Lee will be honored with the VES Visionary Award. Richard Edlund ASC, VES will be presented the Lifetime Achievement Award. The 11th Annual VES Awards will take place on Tuesday, February 5, 2013 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. The nominees for the 11th Annual VES Awards are as follows: Outstanding Supporting Visual Effects in a Broadcast Program Hemingway & Gellhorn Nathan Abbot Kip Larsen Chris Morley Christopher Paizis Boardwalk Empire: Episode 308 John Bair Parker Chehak Paul Graff Lesley Robson-Foster Men Who Built America: Episode 2 Glenn Allen Matthew Conner Eran Dinur David Reynolds Hell On Wheels: Blood Moon Matt Von Brock Jason Fotter Tim Jacobsen Bill Kent Hawaii Five-O: La O Na Makuahine Gevork Babityan Jon Howard Armen Kevorkian